Newman Civic Fellows Award

frank-newmanThe Newman Civic Fellows Award honors inspiring college student leaders who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country. Through service, research, and advocacy, Newman Civic Fellows are making the most of their college experiences to better understand themselves, the root causes of social issues, and effective mechanisms for creating lasting change. These students represent the next generation of public problem solvers and civic leaders. They serve as national examples of the role that higher education can — and does — play in building a better world.  The Newman Civic Fellows Awards are made possible through the generous support of the KPMG Foundation. Find out more on the national Campus Compact website.

Cassandra Abarca, Alverno College
Daniel Gutierrez Ayala, Cardinal Stritch University
Jahdai Guerrero, Edgewood College
Megan Bahr, Gateway Technical College
Kassandra Gossens, Madison College
Lelah Byron, Marquette University
Cortland Henning, Moraine Park Technical College
Jeremy Uitenbroek, Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Dahyana Flores, St. Norbert College
Tavyonia Davis, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Amber Heidenreich, University of Wisconsin – Superior
Trenton Ebel, UW Green Bay

2019 Wisconsin Newman Civic Fellows

Donna Lewis-Taylor, Alverno College
Aimeé Navarro Villegas, Marquette University
Renee Vnuk-Uhrman, Moraine Park Technical College
Daniel Diebold, Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Ruthie Tucker, St. Norbert College
Jordyn Gaurkee, University of Wisconsin – Green Bay
Emiliana Lopez, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Zach Atkins, University of Wisconsin – Parkside
Madison Hale, University of Wisconsin – Superior

Click here for bios for the 2019 Newman Civic Fellows.

Click here for a press release regarding the 2019 WI Newman Civic Fellows.

2018 Wisconsin Newman Civic Fellows

Alejandra Gonzalez, Alverno College
Catherine Sullivan-Konyn, Marquette University
Queenie Weesen, Moraine Park Technical College
Jeannette Ingabire, Mount Mary University
Elisha Jaeke, St. Norbert College
Wendy Hoang, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Yoger Aguilar, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Zoe Betancourt, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay 
Sydney Mastey, University of Wisconsin Superior
Marcellese Powell, Western Technical College

2017 Wisconsin Newman Civic Fellows
Katherine Watson, Alverno College
Ana Li, Lawrence University
Gloria Stendel, Madison Area Technical College
Chiana Román, Marquette University,
Maria Ortega, Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Jasmine Babineaux, St. Norbert College
Rena Newman, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Bianca Ruffolo, University of Wisconsin – Parkside
Joanna (Jo) Niswonger, University of Wisconsin Colleges
Yessenia Santamaria, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Raymond Stevens, Western Technical College

2016 WI Award Winners
Mirella Espino / UW Colleges – UW-Extension
Brittany Hawley / Cardinal Stritch University
Nasitta Keita / UW-Madison
Mathias Lemos Castillo / Edgewood College
Grace Meyer / UW-Superior
Maria Sauer / St. Norbert College
Marly Uran / UW-Parkside

2015 WI Award Winners
Alexa Morgan / UW-Parkside
Catherine Wiese / St. Norbert College

2014 WI Award Winners
Candace Block / Mount Mary College
Kelsie George / St. Norbert College
Katie Morici / UW-Stevens Point
Anh Nguyen / UW-Parkside
Lynda Smith / Western Technical College

2013 WI Award Winners
Stephanie Abbott / UW-Whitewater
Jessica Cox / Mt. Mary College
LaTierra Piphus / UW-Parkside
Connor Romenesko / St. Norbert College

2012 WI Award Winners
Kathleen Bauer / UW Colleges – UW-Extension
Amy Diestler / St. Norbert College
Vanessa Hope / UW-Parkside
Amy Ramirez / Mt. Mary College
Binta Sidibe / UW-Superior
Spencer White / Madison Area Technical College

2011 WI Award Winners
Kathryn Evans / UW-Parkside
Mao Kong / Western Technical College
Taylor Putz / Marian University