Twelve Campus Compact for Wisconsin Members awarded with 2020 Newman Civic Fellowship

March 4, 2020

BOSTON, Mass. – March 3, 2020 – Campus Compact, a Boston-based non-profit organization working to advance the public purposes of higher education, has announced the students who will make up the organization’s 2020 cohort of Newman Civic Fellows. The 2020 cohort—the largest group of Newman Civic Fellows to date—comprises 290 students from 39 states, Washington, D.C., Greece, Lebanon, and Mexico.

The 2019-2020 cohort of Fellows includes 12 fellows from 12 institutions across Wisconsin. Campus Compact for Wisconsin is excited to congratulate the following public problem solvers: Cassandra Abarca, Alverno College; Daniel Gutierrez Ayala, Cardinal Stritch University; Jahdai Guerrero, Edgewood College; Megan Bahr, Gateway Technical College; Kassandra Gossens, Madison College; Lelah Byron, Marquette University; Cortland Henning, Moraine Park Technical College; Jeremy Uitenbroek, Northeast Wisconsin Technical College; Dahyana Flores, St. Norbert College; Tavyonia Davis, University of Wisconsin-Parkside; Amber Heidenreich, University of Wisconsin-Superior; and Trenton Ebel, UW-Green Bay.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is a yearlong program for students from Campus Compact member institutions. The students selected for the fellowship are leaders on their campuses who demonstrate a commitment to finding solutions for challenges facing communities locally, nationally, and internationally.

The fellowship is named for the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders, who was a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education. In the spirit of Dr. Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors may nominate one student from their institution for the fellowship.

Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides the students with a variety of learning and networking opportunities that emphasize personal, professional, and civic growth. Each year, Fellows are invited to a national, in-person conference of Newman Civic Fellows and participate in numerous virtual training and networking opportunities. The fellowship also provides fellows with pathways to apply for exclusive scholarship and post-graduate opportunities. Fellows from Wisconsin also have access to Campus Compact for Wisconsin programming and resources.

“We are proud to recognize each of these extraordinary student leaders and thrilled to have the opportunity to engage with them,” said Campus Compact President Andrew Seligsohn. “The stories of this year’s Newman Civic Fellows make clear that they are committed to finding solutions to pressing problems in their communities and beyond. That is what Campus Compact is about, and it’s what our country and our world desperately need.”

The Newman Civic Fellowship is supported by the KPMG Foundation. Learn more at


Campus Compact is a national coalition of 1000+ colleges and universities committed to the public purposes of higher education. Campus Compact supports institutions in fulfilling their public purposes by deepening their ability to improve community life and to educate students for civic and social responsibility. As the largest national higher education association dedicated solely to campus-based civic engagement, we provide professional development to administrators and faculty to enable them to engage effectively, facilitate national partnerships connecting campuses with key issues in their local communities, build pilot programs to test and refine promising models in engaged teaching and scholarship, celebrate and cultivate student civic leadership, and convene higher education institutions and partners beyond higher education to share knowledge and develop collective capacity. Visit

Please address all media inquiries to:

Molly Leiper, Communications Manager
mleiper {at} compact(.)org