The Nuts and Bolts of Respectful Partnerships with Native and Indigenous Populations

PART 2 – The Nuts and Bolts of Respectful Partnerships with Native and Indigenous Populations

Monday, April 30 @ 10 AM PST / 11 AM MST / 12 PM CST / 1 PM EST

REGISTER

The second part of this webinar series will build on the frameworks we learned in Part 1 about working respectfully with Native and Indigenous populations. This will be a deeper dive into the specifics and nuts and bolts of formulating partnerships, such as developing MOUs and research partnerships. Sally Thompson will be co-presenting with Crow Tribal member Shane Doyle.

About Shane Doyle, EdD
Shane Doyle, Ed.D is a Crow tribal member hailing from Crow Agency, who works as an education and culture consultant in Bozeman. Dr. Doyle has 20 years of teaching experience, including 16 years as an instructor of Native American Studies at Montana State University – Bozeman. Shane has 28 years of experience as a singer of Northern Plains style music, is a member of the Native American Church, and frequently provides educational and ceremonial songs for events throughout south-central Montana. Dr. Doyle consults for Yellowstone Forever, Montana OPI, and the University of Colorado, Boulder, as well as serving on the Board of Directors for the Bozeman based Extreme History Project, the Montana Arts Council, and the Governors Special Committee on State Parks. Shane is also currently on the steering committee for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Raising Places Grant, a community improvement grant focused on the town of Lodge Grass, Montana, on the Crow Indian Reservation. Shane is married and a father of 5 children, ages 13 – 5.

About Sally Thompson
Dr. Sally Thompson has spent nearly forty years working with the native tribes of the West. Trained as an anthropologist at the University of Colorado, she has worked in Montana as an archaeologist, ethnographer, and ethnohistorian.

As founder and director of the Regional Learning Project at the University of Montana (2001-2010), Sally oversaw a team of specialists developing curriculum resources on regional history, geography and culture.

Her passion is working collaboratively with tribal communities to tell a more balanced version of our shared history. The 2015 book, People Before The Park: The Kootenai and Blackfeet Before Glacier National Park, and three documentary films, Native Homelands Along the Lewis & Clark Trail, Contemporary Voices Along the Lewis & Clark Trail, and Why Save a Language? are some of the tangible results of her work.

One focus of Sally’s research has been the rich tribal histories imbedded in the writings, maps and paintings of the Jesuits who founded the Rocky Mountain Mission.